More event blogging coming up

Posted on 12 October 2010

0


 

In mid-November, I’ll be doing another event blogging project, this time for Tipping Point in Brisbane.

It’s a two-day, invitation-only forum for artists, scientists and thinkers to explore ways to adapt to and mitigate the effects of climate change, and it’s being hosted by my old workplace, The Edge.

This event blogging is pretty interesting. While I don’t get paid for my time (perennial issue with writing for the web) I get to go to stuff for free and network and learn and have my horizons broadened.

More and more events organisers and imaginers are deciding that blogging should be part of their events because it’s a nice, low-cost way to do a few things:

  • get some dedicated coverage by people who are likely to be positively disposed towards the event
  • collect feedback about the event
  • increase the event’s web presence
  • jump on the social media bandwagon.

All good aims.

I think this one will be interesting, and very different from my last one. Tipping Point is based on bringing together artists and scientists to put their various intelligences together on the topic of climate change and how to deal with it. I’m not sure whether to expect a mutual appreciation society or a stand-off between different schools of thought. It will probably be a bit of both.

So even though I have to give up a Friday and Saturday to go, I will get food and drink and access to about 100 hyper-interesting people.

As well as the exclusive bits of the conference, there are public forums as well. Brisbane’s is on Friday 12 November at 6–10 pm and there are events in Sydney and Melbourne. Have a look at this page of the website and here at The Edge for more info.

There will be a dedicated blog site where you’ll be able to see posts by me and my fellow blogger. I’ll post again a bit closer to the time with a link.

Update: there wasn’t a dedicated blog created, so my posts are on this very blog. You can see them all under the Tipping Point tag.

