Seriously, who does that?

Posted on 14 December 2010

5


A few years ago, I wrote a story that ended up being called Dragon Dust. I thought of the ending first, as I often do, then filled in the beginning and middle later. The idea came suddenly and was written quickly. I don’t often do that.

It was set in an imaginary world, nothing too flashy, just a medieval-style village high in the mountains. It was autumn. There were dragons.

It got published by Vignette Press and received a couple of lovely reviews. I am still extremely chuffed.

Almost as soon as it was written, I thought there might be another story to be told about one of the minor characters. But who writes a sequel to a freaking short story? It was clearly a ridiculous idea and I dismissed it.

The world of Dragon Dust stayed with me and the second story kept suggesting itself. When I was at the Emerging Writers Festival Roadshow a few weeks ago, I had an attack of festival inspiration and whipped out the netbook to throw down some thoughts about the story.

I’m so glad I did, because now I’m using them as a basis to work out the bones of this story.

Luckily I have a lot experience doing things that seem ridiculous by every other measure except that they feel right to me. Because yes, I’m writing a sequel to a short story.

Seriously, who does that?

Me. I do that.

Image credit: Tatry Słowackie – Slovakian Tatra Mountains by Jarosław Pocztarski under a Creative Commons Attribution licence

Posted in: Writing