The first couple of days

Posted on 7 February 2011

7


After my first couple of days in Melbourne I have had a few suspicions confirmed:

1. A dryish 17°C is the perfect environment when you have been getting brow-beaten by 35°C and 100% humidity for two solid months.

2. My skin does not appreciate the humidity suddenly disappearing and I was right to bring my entire stockpile of body lotion samples.

3. My lungs do not appreciate the humidity suddenly disappearing and I was right to stock up on asthma prescriptions.

4. I am going to become addicted to cigarette smoke from doing my work in the outside seating of cafés.

5. I have awesome friends and I will never be lonely here.

6. LinkedIn rocks.

7. So does daylight savings.

8. No matter how familiar you are with a place, it looks very different when you have come to stay.

9. I will be borrowing Ingrid’s cute little jackets quite a lot.

