Getting out of the rat race

Posted on 25 May 2011

0


My friend is starting a business. We had a Facebook chat about it yesterday. I’m posting an excerpt because it reminded me that while I’ve been a bit stressed and run down lately, I’m still confident I’m doing the right thing with my life.

Friend:

Any tips for getting out of the rat race?

Me:

First, work out what you want to do with your life.

Like, really, really want to do. Like if your whole family died, what would you do to fill the void.

Then find other people who do similar things.

Then, sell all your houses and pay off all your loans, throw away all your stuff you don’t absolutely need.

The next thing I did was network my arse off – asked people I know if they could put me in touch with potential clients, asked them if they had any work for me, went on a million coffee dates with people i thought were interesting and/or might be able to feed me work.

Um, my life works best when I go with my hunches. That’s the best advice I can give you 😛

Friend:

You are beautiful! Thank-you.

Me:

(Feels warm and fuzzy.)

Image credit: Caution – Rat Race by Roger Price under a Creative Commons Attribution Licence

Posted in: Career