Random things I need to know

Posted on 30 May 2011

5


A lot of people I know seem to know a lot of random information. For a writing project I’m working on I need to know a lot of random things so rather than looking things up myself, I thought I’d ask my blog readers whether you know any of the things this project is asking me for.

If you know the answers to any of these, please comment and let me know. Then I’ll find something nice to do for you.

Things my project wants to know

  1. What ores are likely to be available high in a mountain range that a pre-industrial community would be able to get at and use? Coal and some kind of metal like tin would be most convenient.
  2. How long does it take to spin enough thread to make a metre of cotton on an old-school spindle? What about wool? And then how long would it take to weave that thread into cloth?
  3. What times of year do northern hemisphere berries come out? I’m thinking strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, gooseberries but will definitely take advice.
  4. How long to wine grapevines take to have good fruit?
  5. If you had a wild beehive and just left it for a few centuries, is it possible it would get bigger and bigger and turn into a huge bee metropolis? Because that would be cool.
  6. What’s the best age to kill goats and chickens at for their meat?
  7. How long is a goat’s gestation period?
  8. What herbal painkillers are available on a European mountain range?
  9. What do you do to a fire when you bank it down for the night so there are coals left in the morning?
  10. What is darning? I know it’s mending knitted things like socks, but I don’t know what it looks like.
  11. Which is better for making sewing needles out of: the bones of a goat or the horns of a goat?
  12. How long do breeding female goats live if they give birth every year?
  13. If a goat dies of an infected udder can you still eat the meat?
  14. Do you shear goats to get their wool or comb it out?
  15. Where do we get yeast from?
  16.  How long does it take to pluck a chicken?
Help!
Image credit: Any questions? by Michael Janssen under a Creative Commons Attribution licence
Posted in: Career, Writing