An afternoon at the library

Posted on 29 June 2011

2


Yesterday afternoon I spent about 45 minutes exploring the State Library of Victoria building. It was research for a project I’m working on for October (check out its website if you want more information; I’m still getting my head around it).

Research involved taking a few photos.

Redmond Berry Reading Room, Level 2a

Cowen Gallery from the Red Rotunda

Window to nowhere in the entrance

Information Centre

Awesome spiral staircase you're not allowed to use.

Feature wall on level 3 (I think)

The La Trobe reading room. It is stunning. Go there.

Pop up book of the Wizard of Oz exhibited somewhere around the edges of the La Trobe Reading Room

View from somewhere around the edge of the La Trobe Reading Room

Some of Australia's earliest paperbacks exhibited somewhere around the edge of the La Trobe Reading Room

Another view from somewhere around the edge of the La Trobe Reading Room

I’ll have to go back and see a few of the spaces that I couldn’t go into today, especially Experimedia. I think I’ll go back just because it’s beautiful to look at and peaceful to be in.

Posted in: Career, Geekdom, Melbourne