New Year’s Traditions

Posted on 30 December 2012

0


NYE cropped

I don’t do new year’s resolutions. I do new year’s SWOT analyses.

It’s a tradition that began many years ago in my old house in Toowong, Brisbane. Five of us planned to have a quiet New Year’s Eve dinner while everyone else went out partying. As it turned out, the five of us ended up polishing off eleven bottles of wine, climbing on the roof, and playing limbo in the kitchen at two am.

Somewhere in between, we also had a session of analysing the strengths and weaknesses of the year just gone and the opportunities and threats to the year about to start.

It was super fun for two main reasons. Firstly: we were all massive geeks. Secondly, it got us to reflect thoughtfully (tipsily) on what we’d been doing for the last twelve months before thinking about how we wanted to spend the coming year. It’s become a bit of a tradition, for me at least.

This time around, it’s pretty easy to pick out the weaknesses of my 2012. It’s been a total soap opera: health problems, romantic dramas, lapses in my character judgement becoming apparent.

Strengths of 2012? Good home, good friends, good family, good work, read some good books, seen some good shows, learnt lots of stuff.

It looks like 2013 is going to be more insanity for me. It’ll start with the book writing trip, continue with some more writing, and some business stuff.

My opportunities are that I have a few writing projects in progress I’m looking forward to completing, and that I have a pretty solid plan for the business side of my work that I’m really excited about.

Threats: recurring health issues, my tendency to do idiot things, unforeseeable life dramas, business stuff not going well, having to do work that doesn’t get me closer to where I want to be.

I’m looking forward to next year, although it’s beyond daunting to be starting it off with writing a freaking book. If I made a resolution, it would be to chill out and eat my vegetables.

Do you do resolutions?

Image credit
