Self-Publishing Is Not The Answer To Everything

Posted on 5 March 2013

0


philosophy

‘Hey, you know, I was reading about this girl in Albuquerque who made millions self-publishing her book. You should do that.’

‘Oh yeah, where did you read about that?’

‘In the paper.’

‘The newspaper?’

‘Well. Yeah.’

‘You know what they write about in the newspaper?’

‘Um…’

‘News.’

‘Yeah…’

‘You know what the definition of “news” is?’

‘Uh…’

‘”Things that are unusual, that don’t happen very often, even things that hardly ever happen.” Someone making millions self-publishing a book without already being Stephen King or JK Rowling comes under that category.’

‘Interesting.’

‘So I don’t think I will do that. I’ll leave the publishing to the people who actually work in publishing. And they’ll leave the writing to me. Most of it, at least.’

Image credit
Posted in: Writing